DevjaVu is presenting at STIRR

September 12, 2006

Me:

devjavu: if apple did sourceforge

David Reid:

hehe
apple is doing sourceforge though
macosforge.org
trac and svn and wordpress

Me:

so it is a lot like if apple did sourceforge!

Tomorrow evening in San Francisco, I’m going to be pitching DevjaVu at STIRR, a mixer for investors and entrepreneurs. CNET’s Editor at large, Rafe Needleman, will be introducing the presenters. He emailed us asking if we can do a Hollywood-style five second hook before our actual 60 second pitches, something along the lines of “It’s like MySpace, but it doesn’t make your eyes bleed.”

Now that I think I’ve got my real pitch down (whew!), I’ve been playing with ideas for this quick one-liner. “If Apple did Sourceforge” is one I like, but I might go with something like “Sourceforge stupidly simple.” What do you guys think? Any other suggestions? : )

-Jeff

8 Responses to “DevjaVu is presenting at STIRR”

  1. Jure Says:

    If 37signals did software project management…


  2. “Development tools that stay out of your way.”

  3. Jeff Lindsay Says:

    Definitely, I could borrow the whole Trac pitch and add hosted to it and I think that would do pretty well. But it would be nice if I could do it in terms of other company names so it’s more like “It’s Mary Poppins meets Blade Runner.” Just to make it more fun.

    I think if 37signals did software project management, you’d get Unfuddle. :P

    I also feel I should add “without the suck” to anything that mentions Sourceforge.

  4. Zach Lute Says:

    So how did it go? What’d you end up going with?

    Inquiring minds want to know!

  5. Jeff Lindsay Says:

    “Sourceforge meets 37signals.”


  6. No “without the suck?” I’m disappointed :)

  7. Blake Burris Says:

    Jeff did a great job on the pitch; especially for such a rowdy group and venue. I was sold after a demo.

  8. Philip Neustrom Says:

    It’s MySpace meets Dogster!!!!!1


Leave a Reply

