We scare away 15% of our visitors

December 6, 2007

Today I was playing with Parallels for the first time and I tried out our site using the Windows Internet Exporer and… wow… We’ve checked on Windows Firefox, but for whatever reason, we just never bother to check on IE. The explanation is probably obvious, but I think that’s still no excuse when 15% of our visitors are IE users. I’m surprised we haven’t gotten hate mail.

Actually, it’s not that bad, but definitely bad enough to scare away anybody that might have been interested in using us, I’m sure. Click for full size:

 Pure Ugly

Yeah, I don’t know what to say. I guess we have a bit of browser compatibility work in front of us.

-Jeff 

4 Responses to “We scare away 15% of our visitors”

  1. jboss Says:

    Yeah, missing PNG transparency rly sux in IE, but its kinda noobish not to check IE looks when this site has been up for a while even when IE users aren’t your target audience it is still good (profesional) to be cross-browser compatible.

    On the other hand I can see a red border around the DevJavu logo on the homepage, it goes dark gray on hover. I guess it is not supposed to be there. I am using FF2.0.0.6/WinXP.

  2. Jeff Lindsay Says:

    Well I hate to admit noobery, especially after being a professional web developer for 6+ years. Since we finished the new design, we’ve just been so caught up in everything else in our development, it never crossed my mind. We’re in the middle of San Jose, CA and so everybody around us either has Apple or uses Firefox these days.

    Oh well, most of these are pretty simple things to fix.


  3. Sounds like 15% of your visitors need to upgrade their browsers if they are using IE6 :)

  4. Ian Silber Says:

    Jeff – check this out: http://www.twinhelix.com/css/iepngfix/. It’ll help with the ugly blue backgrounds on your PNG files.

    Enjoy.


Leave a Reply

