Email masking for anonymous users

January 24, 2008

This one has been coming for a long time. We now mask email addresses to anonymous users in a way that actually destroys the ability to use the email, while still making it obvious enough who the user is. I guess you could call it the Google approach. We take the last two characters off the username before the domain and replace them with periods, much like on Google Groups. For example:

joeblow@example.com becomes joebl..@example.com

This should hopefully help you feel safer using an email address as your username. We still intend to build an alias system so that you can have short, non-email usernames for your projects, but we have to put that one off for a bit.

-Jeff

7 Responses to “Email masking for anonymous users”

  1. Jeffrey Says:

    Hi guys,

    I am not able to get to my project, your home page, or your trouble ticketing system at the moment.

    I’m assuming that you’re aware that the site is having problems at the moment but since you haven’t posted here about it I thought I’d leave a comment just in case…

  2. Jeff Lindsay Says:

    One of our slices went down, but not both. If you were to try again several times, it should hit the other slice. We took down the other slice and we’re looking into what happened.

  3. Kyle Says:

    Any word on this alias system? I’m a fan of using email addresses for logging in, but I don’t like having to type out my email address to get anything out of my svn repo (it’s not anonymous).

  4. Jeff Lindsay Says:

    Yeah, I’d like that too. It’s dependent on a bunch of other changes that we’re dealing with. Hopefully in the next couple months.


  5. it seems like e very good web site but my English is not good. It would be great if it might be availible in other languages too. Thanks.

  6. green card Says:

    do you know any information about this in english?


  7. I think it is interesting issue


Leave a Reply

